District Honors Students, Staff and Board Members

Board Members
Board Members 2
Board Members 3
Board Members 4
Recognition and accolades abounded in the Northport-East Northport School District as the Board of Education recognized its outstanding students, administrators, faculty and fellow board members during its June 15 meeting.

Kicking off the recognitions, Superintendent of Schools Mr. Robert Banzer and members of the board acknowledged the hard work, dedication and sportsmanship of the high school’s inaugural Unified Basketball Team. Led by the boys varsity basketball coach Andrew D’Eloia, the Northport High School Unified Basketball team consists of special needs students collaborating with general education students as one team and participate in basketball games against other schools.

“This has been the most rewarding experience of my coaching career,” said D’Eloia. “Students with special needs can teach all of us far more than we could ever learn. Their passion for the game, energy and effort is the standard I am going to hold the varsity team to.”

The evening proceeded with Northport High School Social Studies teacher David Scott receiving the 2017 Excellence in Civics Education Award from the Federal Bar Association for his dedication in teaching civics education. Additionally, the high school was named a 2017-18 Reward School by the State of New York Education Department. The SED identifies Reward Schools as those ranking among the top 20 percent in English language arts and mathematics assessment performance, having a graduation rate above 80 percent and obtaining the most progress and/or highest achievement in the state without significant gaps in student achievement.
Following, Mr. Banzer and members of the board acknowledged six teachers for their achievements in their respective field of teaching with the Professional Achievement Awards.
Acknowledging their years of service on the board, trustees Regina Pisacani and Jennifer Thompson were recognized for their devotion, effort and time with the district.

“On behalf of the entire board, we appreciate and thank you for your service, dedication and time that you both have given to this community,” said Board of Education President Andrew Rapiejko. “You both are irreplaceable and will be missed.”

Concluding the ceremony, retirees of the district were recognized for their years of dedication, support and guidance to the students of the district.

“Thank you for 471 collective years of experience teaching our students and collaborating with our staff,” said Mr. Rapiejko. “We wish you a lifetime of happiness during your retirement.”
In addition, three teachers, Erin Harrison from Dickinson Avenue Elementary School, Amy Lang from Ocean Avenue Elementary School and Northport High School English teacher Kerri Tordi received tenure.