skip to main content

National Honor Society Inducts Class of 2023 as Officers Reflect on Group's Legacy

NHS_(1).png thumbnail246868

As National Honor Society officers, Ava Mir, Charlotte Bingham and Sam Rosenfeld-McMahon have spent countless hours supporting events and activities behind the scenes. Along with their fellow society members, they have been the quiet forces behind the St. Baldrick’s Day “Brave the Shave” event, Best Buddy Friendship Ball, Miss Minnie’s Toy Drives, freshman orientation and many more philanthropic and school-focused endeavors over the past two years.  
Advisor Lynn Cromeyn emphasized that the spirit of giving is engrained in Northport High School and these students take pride in being able to give back to the community. “This school has always struck me, from my very first day, with how much these kids give back,” she said. 
Senior and National Honor Society President Ava Mir emphasized that the good will is not just for the sake of college essays and a resume, but rather is truly about standing up for what is right, giving back to those in need and supporting the entire community.
 “Something that is important that we have been stressing is humility,” she said. “We’re not out there shouting our causes, but we’re standing with organizations in our own community behind the scenes and doing the gritty work, whether it’s setting up before or after school or during lunch period, while still maintaining high GPAs and strong character.” 
Fellow officer Charlotte Bingham agreed, saying “It’s not so much for recognition, it’s more to enrich the schoolwork and the volunteer work we’ve already put in.” Both students emphasized that they are proud to be able to work alongside other groups and organizations to help bolster their success.
As he students prepared to usher in a new class of 108 National Honor Society inductees, they also reflected on the legacy they hope to leave behind. 
“For me, what’s really important to leave behind is just the desire to have that school spirit, to keep taking initiative whether it is community service or the honor society, or school involvement – things like that are extremely important for us to leave behind,” said Rosenfeld-McMahon. 
During the ceremony, Principal Rob Dennis, advisors Lynn Cromeyn and Sara Kohlmann and each of the student officers spoke of the pillars of National Honor Society – scholarship, character, leadership, and service – before calling each student to the stage for the induction. 
“You are all destined to do so many wonderful things and we, as a school community, are here to support you,” said Principal Rob Dennis. 
To be eligible for National Honor Society, students must have a GPA of 93 or above and be involved in at least two school-sponsored clubs or activities. Additionally, they must commit to several community service hours during their time as a member, with many students going above and beyond the minimums.
Congratulations to the following students on their inductions:

Charles Aftel
Nathaniel Aftel
Maya Azzam
Jessica Beitchman
Andrew Belanic
John Berkery
Thomas Bianchi
Evelyna Bord
Owen Boylan
Mary Breckling
Emily Burns
Mairead Carroll
Celine Catanzaro
Vivienne Cierski
Kailey Ciszek
Patrick Clements
Maggie Coates
Ashley Cocks
Sedona Conforti
Catherine Coronato
James Corr
Colin Cote 

Payton Cotter Sophia Cox Sophia D’Ambrosio Julia Della Vecchia Ozan Demir Ava derBoghossian Joseph DeRosa Callan Devine Jack Donop Lily Eagen Ryan Edebohls Verena Eldeiry Rayna Feuer Dora Fields Bryan Florio Cameron Foley

Kaitlin Gardella Hallie Gilmartin Molly Gonzalez Olivia Graziano Kiley Guinn Ruby Hasbrouck

Alexis Heffernan Matthew Horyczun Ashley Jimenez Samuel Johnson Jacob Karp Kate Karp

Sean Kelly Erin Klein Oliver Kotowicz Jordan Kuo Sabrina Kwarta Tayler Lacher Maryn Lasen Sophie Le Berre Evan Liu Anthony Loiacono

Amy Long Kyle Lucas Sophia Malon Glenn May Sienna McArdle Lauren McKinnon

Alina Mendonis Ayesha Molano Emily Muller Matthew Munson Ryan Murphy Spencer Murphy Caitlyn Murphy Brendan Navas Lily Nye Declan O’Donnell Ava Olsen William Parker Jacob Pearlman Zachary Peltz Jacob Raimo Liam Riordan Griffin Schluter Bennet Schmalenberg Grace Schoonmaker Drew Schuttinger Emma Seaton Megan Sebesta

Liam Sevey Anthony Shah Katharine Sheahan Thomas Simonetti Petros Skaliarinis Karen Stehlik Sophia Stern Charlotte Stuertz Kyle Sundberg Olivia Suriani Finn Sweeney Maggie Taylor Griffin Teiner Michaela Tumsuden Madeline Urhlass Kayla Vig Andrew Vitale Charlotte Wagner Joseph Waters Brooke Werthner Samantha Yolango